Victor Angry, a retired command sergeant major of the Army National Guard, has come out on top of a today’s Neabsco District firehouse primary.

Angry, 50, won the four-way contest with 70.9 percent of the vote. He garnered 266 of the 375 votes cast, according to results released tonight by the Prince William County Democratic Committee.

Patrick Jones, an environmental manager with the Prince William Health District, was a distant second with 44 votes. Next was Aracely Panameno with 39 votes. Don Shaw, who stepped down as chairman of the Prince William County Democratic Committee to run for the seat, came in last place with 25 votes.

The late John Jenkins’ widow, Ernestine Jenkins, received one write-in vote.

The local Democratic committee held the caucus to pick their nominee for the April 9 special election to fill the remaining eight months of the late John Jenkins’ term on the Prince William County Board of Supervisors.

Jenkins, also a Democrat, held the seat for 36 years before he died on Feb. 6.

Voting took place between 3 and 7 the Dale City Volunteer Fire Station 13 on Hillendale Drive in Dale City. 

Angry, a native of Altamonte Springs, Florida, was endorsed by several local Democratic elected officials ahead of the race, including state Sens. Jeremy McPike, D-29th, and Scott Surovell, D-36th; Dels. Luke Torian, D-52nd, and Hala Ayala, D-51st; and all five Democrats on the Dumfries Town Council. 

Angry retired from the military in 2011 after 23 years of full-time active duty in the Army National Guard. He was the first African American to hold the leadership post of command sergeant major.

Angry is now a volunteer firefighter, leads the department’s public education program and does motivational speaking. During a candidate’s forum Saturday, Angry said he felt he was best suited to “carry on John Jenkins’ legacy.”

“We can look forward to building a bright and better Prince William County,” he added.

Before the caucus, Angry said he would hold “immediate listening sessions” on the county budget proposed by the County Executive Chris Martino this past week.

“I believe that service to others is the true test of leadership and key to one’s own success, as well as the key to the success of a community,” Angry said in a statement before the vote.

Tonya James, chairwoman of the Prince William County Democratic Committee, said she was please with the turnout and the “energy” evident among voters who turned out on a breezy but warm Sunday afternoon.

“There was just a lot of respect for Supervisor Jenkins,” James said. “There were a lot of people showing up out of respect to him and his legacy.”

It’s not clear who Angry will face in the April 9 special election, as the Prince William County Republican Committee has yet to publicly announce their candidate in the race. The vote will take place at the Neabsco District’s regular polling places. 

According to Virginia law, the political parties had just five days — until Tuesday, Feb. 26 — to name their candidates for the special election because it will occur in fewer than 60 days.

Circuit Court Judge Tracy Hudson initially set the special election for April 2, at the request of the Prince William County Board of Supervisors, but then agreed to reschedule it for April 9 at the supervisors’ request in an effort to allow Ernestine Jenkins the ability to participate in the contest if she chose to do so. The Jenkins traveled to Alabama this past week to bury the late Jenkins in his hometown.

As it happened, Ernestine Jenkins did not attend the caucus because she was still out of town on Sunday, James said.

Source: Prince William Times

Stay Updated With Angry Updates!

Join our mailing list to receive the latest news and updates from our us.

You have Successfully Subscribed!

Thank you for your interest in joining our volunteer team.

Put your information below to become a volunteer and someone will contact you right away!

Thank You for Volunteering!